I never thought I am this ignorant and conservative. Reading a few intense stories in The Elbi Files makes me think of myself as innocent as a baby. Despite being as conservative as a 'manang,' I am an avid reader who is not picky when it comes to the genre so I am in the know of some liberated things too. But that does not prepare me for what I read in that page. I am shocked at how often those cases happen within the vicinity of our university. Living in a homy and conservative dormitory (Fifth of September Mansion hihi) makes me feel relieved because thoughts about scenarios like sex, rape, sexual harrassment and the like (among students) do not pop into my mind. Seriously, I feel ignorant about this kind of stuff. I just feel kinda scarred for life and frightened a bit. To think that I told myself I will try applying YOLO to my life next semester like try going to events or parties. But... I don't know, I am still open to that as long as I know the crowd or something. Yep, maybe it just depends on who you are with. Not all people are as awful as some people who deserve to be screwed by karma. Oh yeah, my (lack of) social life still has a chance! And by the way I feel glad for those people posting too personal stuff like that in The Elbi Files. I salute their courage to accept and share the horrid stuff that they had to go through. I know they are seriously scarred for life, but I am grateful for them. At least somehow they inform and prepare us for the inevitable. We become knowledgable of what is going on. Ignorance may be bliss, most of the time, but somehow it does not hurt to be in the know. Life will catch us by surprise at some point so we better be prepared and ready.
P.S. I should probably learn self defense... Haha.
No comments:
Post a Comment