Today is the last day of July, our classes were suspended
due to the typhoon and there’s nothing better to do on a cold, rainy day than
have a good book in front of your face all day. The only thing that would make
it perfect was a mug of hot chocolate with little marshmallows floating in it.
Maybe a single pack of Swiss Miss would do, but I was too lazy to make one and
I really got caught up with the book that the only time that I paused was to
eat brunch and dinner. Oh, and during bathroom breaks too.
Nineteen Minutes is a book about this guy who’s still high
school (probably who’s not antisocial, just the typical loser type) who got
bullied since kindergarten (which was a bit too much, don’t you think?) and
well, one day, maybe he just had enough and executed this shooting in their
school, targeting mostly the bullies who picked on him all his life. Peter left
a total of ten people dead, eighteen wounded and hundreds traumatized. With all
the evidences at hand, there’s no point in denying at court. The defense’s only
edge is to get sympathy from the jury and make them see a scared and bullied
boy who had no idea of what he was doing. But… despite the casualties, can you
actually blame him?
I think high school is never like what we see on television
or what we even read on books. But I’m pretty sure that there are cliques which
set the status quo, separating the popular ones from the brainiacs, the jocks
from the nerds, the punks from the losers. In the school where I graduated, it
also had those distinct groups. There’s no acknowledged names of who’s who
though, but it can be determined who belongs to what. There wasn’t any serious
bullying or anything, but I can say there are those who get to be picked on by
other guys occasionally. Sometimes not even by those who are ‘cool and
popular,’ but mostly by jerks who want to make themselves feel better. Mostly
the cool and popular lately are not even the jocks or cheerleaders (if we had
any), but rather the type of kids who have a shot in a great life ahead. The
kind who would end up as senators, lawyers, engineers, CEOs, and so many more
professions possible. Yet either way, whoever does the bullying, may it be a
jerk or even someone who might end up a president, he is still a big fat bully,
is he not?
Some say it is normal for bullies to exist. I absolutely beg
to differ because I know for a fact that in life, we always have a choice –
either we choose to act like jerks who think they are better than anyone else
or not. You either do something good or not. The only rational reason that I
can think of that may cause bullying is to make themselves feel better. They
are that insecure they actually choose to step on other people rather than find
other things to make themselves feel good. Also they can never say it is ‘just
for fun’ because anything that costs the feelings of others does not count as
something fun. That’s just plain stupid. Everyone deserves better, and just
because you think you are better than others does not make you more deserving
than they are. Wake up all you bullies out there. The world does not revolve
around you. I repeat, it does not. Make yourself useful and plant a tree or
something. Do something worthwhile, don’t waste your time beating the heck out
of people because there’s this powerful thing called Karma and it will hunt you
down. Seriously.
Date typed via mobile: July 31, 2012 :)
No comments:
Post a Comment